Skip to content

[M21] Jeskai Elder (053-274) [EN] (U) [2020]

Jeskai Elder (1U)

Creature – Human Monk – 1/2

Prowess (Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)
Whenever Jeskai Elder deals combat damage to a player, you may draw a card. If you do, discard a card.

053/274 – U – M21 – EN – 2020
Art by Craig J Spearing

GATHERER RULINGS

SETS & LEGALITY

2020.06.23:

You draw a card and discard a card all while Jeskai Elder’s ability is resolving. Nothing can happen between the two, and no player may choose to take actions.

2014.09.20:

Any spell you cast that doesn’t have the type creature will cause prowess to trigger. If a spell has multiple types, and one of those types is creature (such as an artifact creature), casting it won’t cause prowess to trigger. Playing a land also won’t cause prowess to trigger.

Prowess goes on the stack on top of the spell that caused it to trigger. It will resolve before that spell.

Once it triggers, prowess isn’t connected to the spell that caused it to trigger. If that spell is countered, prowess will still resolve.

You draw a card and discard a card all while Jeskai Elder’s ability is resolving. Nothing can happen between the two, and no player may choose to take actions.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: